Sorry so sloppy.

In the words of Jim Anchower, I know it’s been awhile since I’ve rapped at ya, but I’ve had some important business to take care of since the posting of my last entry, an event which almost directly coincided with the onset of summer.

I had such grand plans for this summer. I was going to buy this thing and drink from it exclusively until September and host a barbecue on my back porch and wear only high-waisted shorts and sunglasses all day, every day. But then I realized how broke I was, and this was never bought, and I discovered the hard way that we’ve got a bad mosquito infestation on the back porch (still have the scabs on my ankles to prove it), and I realized that high-waisted shorts probably wouldn’t be a practical wardrobe choice for someone who works in an office 40 hours a week and has thighs that look like Christmas hams. Additionally, sunglasses and I have a love-hate relationship. Like, I’d love to wear them, but I hate the fact that I don’t wear contacts and am blind without my real glasses. Ya heard?

But my summer’s turned out pretty well after all. I went to Long Island for the first time, which was a little surreal. I felt like I was in The Twilight Zone if The Twilight Zone took place at my roommate’s in-laws’ house, and there were aunts with heavily penciled-in eyebrows serving you things like deviled eggs, and at the end of the day, when all you wanted to do was get back to your version of civilization, you pulled up to the Long Island Railroad station just as your train back to the city was pulling away. But that’s another story for another time.

I started running again in hopes of reversing the aforementioned case of Christmas Ham Thigh Syndrome. The results, thus far, have been promising. I got health insurance, REAL-LIFE HEALTH INSURANCE, and went to the dentist on Thursday. No cavities. And the other day, I found not one, not two, but FOUR green Matchless happy hour coins, which for someone who doesn’t drink that often (for health and pocketbook reasons alike), was like finding a goldmine. I’m still saving two of them for “a good time.”

The majority of my life, if you break it down, hour by hour, is spent at work every week. When I’m not there, I’m with my guy or reading (right now, it’s A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving, a book that I read in high school for AP Lit and managed to smuggle into one of my suitcases during my move last year) or watching 16 and Pregnant or, most recently, dreaming about what I’m going to cook next based on that week’s farmers market bounty. My interest in cooking has really taken off since this, but more on that later.

In my mind, I’m always striving for something a little better, but all things considered, I couldn’t be more content at the present moment.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Sorry so sloppy.”

  1. Anne Says:

    Contentment is a good thing. I am glad you have found it. You are blessed. But Christmas ham thighs? C’mon.

  2. TOMATOCON 2010 :P « the acorn archive Says:

    […] the acorn archive « Sorry so sloppy. […]

Leave a Reply

